Resilience Programming Framework

Programming resilience into a system requires developing specific policies, programs, processes, capabilities, and resources that will contribute to its overall ability to bounce back better from a shock.

These five items can also be the starting points in evaluating and subsequently developing the system’s resilience architecture.

  • Does the system have an existing policy for managing risks and responding to shocks?
  • Does the system have programs in place to ensure risks are managed well and adequately respond to disruptions?
  • Does the system have processes in place for preventing/mitigating, preparing for, responding to, and recovering from any form of shock?
  • Does the system have the internal capabilities to implement its programs and execute its processes?
  • Does the system have the resources (finances, tools, equipment, people, etc.) to ensure its ability to bounce back better from shocks?

The programming framework developed by Resilient.PH is composed of five key elements or resilience drivers:

  • Asset Protection and Risk Management (APRM)
  • Enterprise (Business/Public Service) Continuity Planning (ECP)
  • Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR)
  • Crisis and Opportunity Management (COM)
  • Resilience (Risk and Crisis) Communication (ResComms)

Each one has a specific objective and requires resources and competencies.  Note that these elements are not entirely new concepts. They are already well-established measures used by systems. However, they are oftentimes thought of independently and in a linear way.

By integrating these elements into its core operation – ensuring that the necessary policies, programs, competencies, processes, and tools are available to effectively execute them, a system can build up its ability to bounce back better after any identified shock.